It was the day I found out about

It was the day I found out about Sonya’s death, and I went to school thinking it was gonna be a normal day.  But when my first class of the day started and my teacher read that Sonya had died from committing suicide at the train tracks, I was shocked.  I had just seen her the day before, smiling and laughing with her friends.  It wasn’t until I went to my choir class that the news really hit me. My choir teacher read the same paper and soon after, many people, myself included, burst into tears because we couldn’t believe she was gone.  Sonya and I weren’t very close friends, but she and I went to the same middle school.  She was a part of the theater department, as were many of the people in my choir, so they were deeply affected by the news.   Two of my close guy friends saw me crying in my chair and took me outside and hugged me and told me everything was going to be ok.  Knowing that I have such supportive friends and that the bond between Gunn students is so strong is why HMGGMH.

–Class of 09 graduate

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

